WillItSurvive
United Kingdom · United Kingdom

SheMed

UK telehealth pharmacy selling GLP-1 weight loss drugs to women online.

Losing its protection
Assessed 29 July 2026 · Evidence as of 29 July 2026
The structural protection is eroding.
On the recordSince 29 July 2026 · Checkable from still unpublished as of mid-2026 · Every call on the record Checkpoint: Publication of SheMed's promised PCOS/endometriosis/menopause clinical study
The call

SheMed has licensing, funding, and members, but no published clinical edge yet, and the same drugs sell next door at Boots and Lloyds.

SheMed sells prescription weight-loss medications online to women through licensed doctors, claiming 60,000 to 100,000+ customers. The problem is that Boots Online Doctor, LloydsPharmacy, and Simple Online Pharmacy (which has 3 million patients) can copy this exact business tomorrow since they all have the same government licenses, and the two drug makers that supply everything, Novo Nordisk and Eli Lilly, control prices and already forced SheMed to switch which drugs it sells. The one thing that could matter: if SheMed actually publishes real medical research showing its service works better for conditions like PCOS or endometriosis, that might give it real proof others lack, but that study was supposed to come out in late 2025 and hasn't appeared yet.

Why
01
AI pressure: None apparent. AI intake and triage tools speed up prescribing for everyone in this category, SheMed included, but don't single it out. Could AI do the core job? Only partly.
02
Bigger players: Boots Online Doctor, LloydsPharmacy Online Doctor, Simple Online Pharmacy. These already sell the same GLP-1 drugs online under the same GPhC/CQC licensing, with Simple Online Pharmacy claiming 3M+ patients. Could a giant copy it? Yes, easily.
03
What protects it. A GPhC/CQC license and a female-focused brand, neither of which blocks a bigger pharmacy from copying the pitch.
What would change this call
Whether SheMed publishes its promised PCOS/endometriosis/menopause study by late 2026. Tests if SheMed has real clinical differentiation or just marketing positioning.
Whether Boots or LloydsPharmacy launches a women's-branded GLP-1 program. Shows incumbents copying SheMed's positioning since no structural barrier stops them.
Whether SheMed's disclosed revenue or retention figures emerge in future funding rounds. Tests whether 100k+ member claims match actual paying, retained customers.
Key numbers
  • $50M raised at $1B valuation (2025-10-23)
  • 60,000+ members at raise, 100,000+ claimed by 2026 (2026-01-23)
  • 31 employees on LinkedIn (2026-01-23)
Named risks
  • Operating entity eMed Healthcare UK was flagged on an MHRA advertising-investigations list in March 2025. Severity: high
  • Sector-wide Which? probe in May 2026 found online pharmacies issuing GLP-1 on false health claims. Severity: high
  • PCOS/endometriosis/menopause clinical study remains unpublished as of mid-2026, undermining core differentiation claim. Severity: medium
  • Drug pricing shifts, such as Eli Lilly's Mounjaro price rise, already forced customer mix shift to Wegovy, exposing thin margins. Severity: high
  • Every major UK rival holds the same GPhC/CQC licensing, making the women's-health brand easy to replicate. Severity: high
Rivals, as read in July 2026
RivalDirectionEvidence
VoycontestingVoy claims 100,000+ members and an unpublished 58,000-participant Imperial College study, as of 2026-06-30
Simple Online Pharmacylosing toGPhC-registered since 2015 with 3M+ patients served vs SheMed's 60k-100k, as of 2026-06-30
Second Naturelosing toPublished 19.1%-at-12-months semaglutide outcome data vs SheMed's unpublished study, as of 2026-06-30
Eli Lilly (LillyDirect)gaining onDrugmaker runs its own direct-to-consumer channel since January 2024, bypassing telehealth resellers
Boots Online Doctor and LloydsPharmacy Online DoctorcontestingHold identical GPhC/CQC licensing with larger existing brand recognition
Questions people ask
Is SheMed profitable in 2026?
SheMed has not disclosed audited revenue or profit figures. It raised $50M in a Series A announced October 23, 2025, at a $1B valuation, but no public source confirms profitability, and its clinical differentiation claims remain unpublished as of mid-2026.
Is SheMed actually worth $1 billion?
SheMed's $1B valuation stems from a $50M Series A announced October 23, 2025, per Reuters and MobiHealthNews. The company has not disclosed investor names or audited revenue, so the valuation rests on membership growth claims rather than confirmed financials.
Could AI replace SheMed's service?
AI could automate SheMed's intake, triage, and check-in workflows, but UK law requires GPhC-registered pharmacy and CQC-registered clinical oversight for prescribing GLP-1 drugs, a bar SheMed's operating entity eMed Healthcare UK held as of March 2025, so full AI replacement of prescribing is legally blocked for now.
Who founded SheMed and who owns it?
SheMed was founded in April 2024 in London by sisters Olivia Ferro (CEO) and Chloe Ferro (President/Co-founder). It is privately VC-backed; Series A investors from the October 2025 $50M round were not publicly disclosed.
Who is SheMed's biggest competitor?
SheMed competes with Voy (100,000+ members, per a 2026-06-30 comparison), Simple Online Pharmacy (GPhC-registered since 2015 with 3M+ patients served), Second Nature, Boots Online Doctor, and LloydsPharmacy Online Doctor, all holding identical GPhC/CQC licensing.
Has SheMed faced any regulatory scrutiny?
SheMed's operating entity, eMed Healthcare UK Ltd, was named on an MHRA advertising-investigations list published March 7, 2025 for prescription-only-medicine promotion issues. In May 2026, a Which? investigation found sector-wide GLP-1 pharmacies issuing prescriptions on false health claims.
Timeline
  • 2026-07-28Competitor Shed expands into sexual-wellness telehealth, widening adjacent competition
  • 2026-05-19Which? investigation finds UK online pharmacies issuing GLP-1 prescriptions on false claims
  • 2026-01-23SheMed LinkedIn lists 31 employees despite 100,000+ member claims
  • 2025-10-23SheMed announces $50M Series A at $1B valuation, becoming a unicorn
  • 2025-10-11SheMed markets £89 first-month Wegovy offer and ~£159/month flat pricing
  • 2025-08SheMed partners with Tasso to integrate Tasso+ blood-collection device
  • 2025-03-07eMed Healthcare UK (SheMed) named on MHRA advertising-investigations list
  • 2024-12SheMed launches 12-month clinical study on PCOS, endometriosis, menopause
  • 2024-04SheMed founded in London by Olivia and Chloe Ferro
Revision history
29 July 2026
First assessed. Losing its protection. The text above is fixed as of this date and is not edited afterwards.
In the same band
Sources